is quitting MSN.

EDITEDIT: Me and my fickle mind have decided that I should use my email address as my AIM screen name instead so that it is not so confusing, and so that people don’t think that I am showing off as a Mac user (well I do show off, but making people sign up to AIM so that I can slap them with my .Mac handle is way too much). Also, the yk.teng@mac.com email address goes nowhere, as my .Mac trial has ended eons ago. It is still better to have a handle where people can email me directly. Therefore, with immediate effect, my AIM handle is now my email address.

EDIT: AIM is actually more robust than GTalk from my testing. Therefore, I would recommend you contact me on AIM instead. You can sign up for an account and grab the client from www.aim.com. Mac users can just use iChat. AIM also has a web client. You can also log on to AIM from Gmail. My screen name is yk.teng@mac.com tengweikei@gmail.com.

From today, I will be disconnecting from MSN. Having to support a dated and backward messaging protocol on my Mac has been painful to say the least. I am (was) currently piping my MSN through a Jabber server just so I can connect to MSN with iChat, and this implementation was far from convenient. Not to mention the very hacky address I need to enter in my address book for meta contacts, like your_email%msn.com@jaim.at. Ugly? You bet.

Besides, the people I have on MSN either say retarded things, or are seldom online, or they simply do not reply. I do not see the point of me going through all the trouble for these people. Besides, the people I need to talk to are on GTalk AIM anyway. (they used both in case you are wondering)

So, if you have an urgent need to contact me, I am still available by most modern means, like GTalk AIM, Email, Facebook, Twitter and WhatsApp. Do NOT SMS me, unless you do not have an iPhone.

AIM/Email: tengweikei@gmail.com
AIM: yk.teng@mac.com
Facebook: facebook.com/yk.teng
Twitter: twitter.com/ykteng
WhatsApp: my phone number

Besides Twitter, the notifications of all of the above are pushed to me. Meaning, once you click send, I will get it less than 5 seconds. All other social rules apply.

One Response to “is quitting MSN.”

  1. Happy New Year from tehloft! « tehloft Says:

    […] what’s a new year without resolutions? Make it your new year resolution to dump MSN/Windows Live/Live Messenger/whatever, MSN (as known by most). MSN is run by an incompetent company […]

Leave a Reply

